ROYAL FOREST OF DEAN FREEMINERS ASSOCIATION
Picture
Royal Forest of Dean Freeminers' Association
Gloucestershire

Forest of Dean miners practising and supporting the unique ancient Freemining customs of the Royal Forest of Dean.


Contacts

Dr Jason Griffiths
Hon. Secretary

[email protected]

Ll
Richard Daniels MBE
Chairman


Jonathan Wright

President
[email protected]

  • Home
  • History
  • Today
  • Blog
  • Gallery
Picture
Picture


FREEMINING

is an ancient mining custom, practised in the FOREST OF DEAN since
​​'TYME OUT OF MYNDE'
​
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
s become 
​A Freeminer.

​A Freeminer by ancient custom and now statute, is a specific category of person born in the Forest of Dean area (specifically the Hundred of St Briavels) who qualifies for legal registration by the Crown (see Today). Over many hundreds of years Freeminers provided invaluable services to the Crown, in reward their custom has been protected and recognised by every monarch. From 1838 Parliament codified the rights through various Statutes changing them into modern property rights.


Gales.
​
A Freeminer has the right to subsurface tracts of land granted by the Crown known as a gale. Gales are defined underground areas of land, within certain strata, throughout the Hundred of St Briavels, with legal boundaries shown by descriptions and maps from the 1838 Dean Forest Mines Act. Boundaries are given on the grant documentation and plans held in the office of the Deputy Gaveller, available for viewing by Freeminers in search for a gale. When a gale is granted to the Freeminer, it immediately contains a license to mine coal, iron ore or stone. Other minerals produced from the gale are a chattel of the mine and can be sold by the galee, paying an improved royalty to the Crown. 

​Since 1924 the Crown's interest in the Forest of Dean has been managed by the Forestry Commission (now under DEFRA, the Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs). Today (2026), the Forest is managed by the Forestry Commission, through their agency, Forestry England. 

Only a Freeminer can require the grant of a gale, but since 1838, a gale could subsequently be sold, willed or gifted to a non Freeminer and the new galee continues to hold the Freeminer's right to that gale. All mining and quarrying is overseen by the Gaveller through their Deputy Gaveller, who is appointed by them to administer the 1838 Act.  

The Gaveller was a position held by the monarch and granted to their favorites. The Gaveller has oversight of mining rights (gales) in the Forest of Dean, and received all mining revenues due to the king in return. Since the 1830's the role has been made an honorary title and active civil-service role, invested into the Commissioner of Woods. The position of Gaveller along with Warden and Constable of St Briavels, is now invested jointly into the 11 Forestry Commissioners as a body, with revenue payable to His Majesty, His Heirs and Successors (the Treasury). The role of Deputy Gaveller has been recorded since 1464 and since 1838 has become a statutory position. The Deputy Gaveller registers Freeminers, issues gales, collects royalties and ensures rules, regulations and laws applicable to the custom are followed.
​
Freeminers today.

​​
As well as practising the traditional mining custom, Freeminers hold their main meetings at the Speech House in the traditional centre of the Forest of Dean. Freemining was originally regulated by the miners themselves through their Mine Law Court held at convenient places either side of the Forest. From the 12th century, Freeminers held most of their Mine Law Courts at St Briavels Castle and Clearwell Court, overseen by Forest of Dean officials on behalf of the Crown. St Briavels Castle became the administrative centre for the Hundred with its own courts, until the Speech House was built in 1676, over 350 years ago. The Speech House was the King's lodge named for King Charles II, built specifically to house the local courts, hence the name. Originally the main keepers lodge, the building became leased by the Crown as a residence then a hotel; Freeminers’ meetings and Verderers courts are still held there. The last judicial Mine Law Court was held at the Speech House in 1777, even so, since the passing of the 1838 Dean Forest Mines Act, the custom under the Act is applied at Freeminer meetings held in the Forester's Room. There isn't a register showing when a Freeminer dies, but there are thought to be around 100 Freeminers alive today. Since 1984, non registered persons mining in the Forest of Dean, can apply to have Associate membership of the Freeminers Association. Only Freeminers can formally vote at meetings to give the views of Freeminers, but an indicative vote is taken first to reflect the views of the whole membership and help inform the Freeminer vote. 

​Currently there are five operating collieries, one iron mine and several small stone quarries working, so there are places for potential Freeminers to complete their ‘year and a day’ to qualify for registration. Freemining is learned on the job, through being a 'vern' (trainee/partner) working with a skilled miner. 
​
Freemining future.

The Freeminers' Association formed an important part of the successful Heritage Lottery (HLF) bid called the ‘Forester's Forest’, administered by Forestry England, with Freemining being a key part.

Through the HLF, the Association formed a Community Interest Company (Freemining Futures CIC) to support training and provide equipment, helping this unique ancient custom continue into the future.

Picture
Proudly powered by Weebly
  • Home
  • History
  • Today
  • Blog
  • Gallery